Official Nebraska Government Website

Welcome To the Nebraska Commission on Public Advocacy

140 North 8th Street
Suite 270
Lincoln, NE 68508
Telephone: (402) 471-7774
Fax: (402) 471-8087
Chief Counsel
Jeffery A. Pickens
Telephone: (402) 471-7775

Statutory Reference: Neb. Rev. Stat. sect. 29-3923



The Nebraska Commission on Public Advocacy ("Commission") was created in 1995 to provide property tax relief to counties that are required to provide legal representation to indigent defendants charged with first degree murder and serious violent or drug related felonies. The Commission also provides legal assistance to public defenders and court-appointed attorneys. The Commission provides property tax relief because counties pay nothing for such legal services and associated costs.

The Commission consists of nine members appointed by the governor from a list of attorneys submitted by the executive council of the Nebraska State Bar Association after consultation with the board of directors of the Nebraska Criminal Defense Attorneys Association. A member is appointed from each of the six state Supreme Court districts, and three members are appointed at
large. Members must have substantial experience in criminal defense work and civil legal matters. They may not be prosecutors, law enforcement officials, or judges during their terms in office. Members serve six-year terms. The governor designates the chairperson of the Commission. Members are reimbursed for expenses.

The Commission appoints a chief counsel to supervise the divisions of the Commission. These divisions are: the capital litigation division; the violent crime and drug defense division; the appellate division; the DNA testing division; and the major case resource center, which helps public defenders, contracting attorneys or court-appointed attorneys with the defense of felony offenses. The chief counsel also administers the Legal Aid and Services Fund and the Civil Legal Services Fund.


The mission of the agency is to assist Nebraska counties in providing indigent criminal defense services, which are mandated by the state and federal constitutions and state laws. This agency also represents qualifying indigent prisoners under the DNA Testing Act and administers the Legal Aid and Services Fund and the Civil Legal Services Fund, which assist indigent citizens who are in need of civil legal services and cannot afford to hire an attorney.


2019-2020 Annual Report



We are unable to give legal advice or information concerning individual cases unless we have been appointed by a court to represent the individual.


Member Represents Term Expires
Julie E. Bear, Chair
545 Main St.
Plattsmouth, NE 68048
(402) 296-6996
Fax: (402) 296-2989

Fifth District (6-year term)
[Expires 11-3-2019]]
Linsey A. Camplin
P. 0. Box 82426
Lincoln, NE 68501-2426
(402) 476-2200
Fax: (402) 476-2301

First District (6-year term)
[1st Appointment, Expires 11-3-2023]
Michael Ziskey
602 Central Ave.
Nebraska City, NE 68410
(402) 873-3715
Fax: (402) 873-3710
Second District (6-year term)
[1st Appointment, Expires 11-3-2019]
Douglas J. Stratton
200 W. Benjamin Ave.
P. O. Box 888
Norfolk, NE 68702-0888
(402) 371-3100
Fax: (402) 379-4338
Third District (6-year term)
[3rd Appointment, Expires 11-3-2021]
Thomas P. Strigenz
1256 Golden Gate Dr., Suite 2
Papillion, NE 68046
(402) 593-5933
Fax: (402) 593-5939
Fourth District (6-year term)
[2nd Appointment, Expires 11-3-2021]
Nancy S. Freburg
P. O. Box 295
Kearney, NE 68848
(308) 234-5779
Fax: (308) 237-7784
Sixth District (6-year term)
[4th Appointment, Expires 11-3-2023]
Robert Lindemeier
1020 So. Dewey St.
P.O. Box 906
North Platte, NE 69103
(308) 534-6740
Fax: (308) 534-7666
At Large (6-year term)
[4th Appointment, Expires 11-3-2021]
Jonathan M. Braaten                          
1630 K St. 
Lincoln, NE 68508
(402) 477-8800
Fax: (402) 477-8868
At Large (6-year term)
[1st Appointment, Expires 11-3-2019]
Charles D. Brewster
3423 2nd Ave., Suite 7
P. O. Box 521
Kearney, NE 68848
(308) 237-5545
Fax: (308) 646-2676

At Large (6-year term)
[1st Appointment, Expires 11-3-2023]